Shafiq Husayn – The Loop [Album] [2019]

Shafiq Husayn – The Loop [Album]
(Click Cover To Purchase)

01. The Flood feat. Silka
02. May I Assume feat. Jimetta Rose & Fatima
03. My-Story Of Love / Starring You
04. DMT (The Whill)
05. Between Us 2 feat. Bilal
06. Mrs Crabtree feat. Erykah Badu, N’Dambi & Aset SoSavvy
07. On Our Way Home feat. Fatima & Jimetta Rose
08. Walking Round Town feat. Silka
09. Cycles feat. Hiatus Kaiyote
10. Message In A Bottle feat. Coultrain
11. Its Better For You feat. Anderson .Paak
12. Show Me How You Feel feat. Karen Be
13. Hours Away feat. Om’Mas Keith & Coultrain
14. Twelve feat. The Dove Society
15. Picking Flowers feat. El Sadiq
16. Optimystical feat. Robert Glasper
17. New Worlds Over

Shafiq Husayn – The Loop

The Loop’ is the new LP by Los Angeles based polymath Shafiq Husayn, an epic project which saw its inception in 2012 through a series of studio sessions at Shafiq’s home, including collaborations with the likes of Thundercat, Erykah Badu, Flying Lotus, Bilal and Anderson Paak. Amongst a close knit circle of friends and family the golden tones of The Loop were created, deeply rooted in ideas of song, story, history, guidance and spirituality. The album bumps, jumps and jangles through progressions in jazz, hip hop, soul and funk, following on from his debut album ‘Shafiq En’ A-Free-Ka’ and adding further to his rich history of timeless, unique music. On The Loop past, present and future are brought together through a psychedelic concoction of time traveling drum machines, celestial string sections and trails of synthesizer vapour. Inflections of Sly Stone, Pharaoh Sanders and Earth Wind And Fire traverse with Marley Marl and Dilla-esqe drums making for an organic yet LA-trifying experience.