First Word Records – Two Syllables Volume Thirteen [Compilation] [2016]

First Word Records – Two Syllables Volume Thirteen [Compilation]
(Click Cover To Download)

01. Discoali – Srisey Does It (The Walk Off)
02. Eric Lau – Lau’s Lament
03. Souleance – A Little More (C’est La Fete Edit)
04. Darkhouse Family – Solid Gold
05. Sorceress – I Wait For You (Fulgeance Edit)
06. Sarah Williams White – Rainmaker
07. Quiet Dawn – Hold Them Close (Bastien Keb Remix)
08. Ross McHenry – Stateless
09. Myele Manzanza – Montara
10. Children Of Zeus – Crown
11. kidkanevil – A Love That’s Worth Sampling
12. Tall Black Guy – Peace And Love (ft Masego and Rommel Donald)

First Word Records – Two Syllables Volume Thirteen

‘It’s been a hard year….’

This line, from Sarah Williams White’s ‘Rainmaker’ (our first single of the year) has turned out to be surprisingly prophetic. 2016 will go down as a year fraught with difficulties, division and drama. From losing so many of our musical heroes to political upheaval at seemingly every turn, it’s a year a lot people will be glad to see the back of.

Musically however it has been a very different story, particularly in our little corner of the scene. The continued surge of creativity from our adopted South London home shows no signs of stopping, and on a bigger scale, artists such as Solange, Childish Gambino and Anderson Paak have flown the flag for real soul music in a way that would have been hard to anticipate.

As for First Word, we’ve had one of our best years to date, with albums from Jon Phonics, Ross McHenry, Myele Manzanza and Tall Black Guy, as well as the final part of our Record Store Day trilogy leading us to spend a day combing through the record collection of the peerless John Peel. New artists Darkhouse Family and Children Of Zeus have become part of the FW family with Eric Lau, Bastien Keb and a few more set to join us in early 2017. We also launched our sister label Excursions, with edits from Fulgeance & DJ Scientist as well as FW regulars Souleance.

This annual compilation, the thirteenth in our Two Syllables series, rounds up some of the year’s highlights, as well as providing a glimpse into what is coming in 2017. Looking back we have jazz (Ross McHenry and Myele Manzanza), beats (Tall Black Guy, Darkhouse Family, kidkanevil and Quiet Dawn, as remixed by Bastien Keb), as well as a brace of edits and the aforementioned ‘Rainmaker’ from Sarah Williams White.

Compilation E.P.

First Word Records – FW is 10: Future Classics EP [E.P.] [2015]

First Word Records – FW is 10: Future Classics EP [E.P.]
(Click Cover To Purchase)

01. kidkanevil – One For The One
02. Fulgeance & DJ Scientist – Vendetta
03. Essa – LeLeLe ft. Kashmere of Strange U (Prod. Flako)
04. Quiet Dawn – Golden Moments (ft. Sarah Gessler) Souleance Remix
05. Frameworks – Dawn (Throwing Snow Remix)

First Word Records – FW is 10: Future Classics EP

Also Available On: 10″ Vinyl Version

Over the last year we’ve been celebrating the 10th birthday of First Word Records with a series of releases and events. To round out the festivities we’ve put together the third in our series of 10″ vinyl EPs. EP One, ‘Second Chance’ was a compilation of our best selling (but now out of print) vinyl releases, EP Two ‘Most Wanted’ was the best of the catalogue not previously available on vinyl, and the third ‘Future Classics’ is the pick of our current output, with a couple of exclusives added for good measure.

Side A opens with kidkanevil’s ‘One for the One’, a trademark soulful hip hop beat taken from the producer’s soon-come beat tape. Next up is Fulgeance & DJ Scientist’s ‘Vendetta’: the brooding, Eastern Block-influenced beat is a standout track from their ‘Soviet Tape’ album. This side is rounded out with Essa’s seismic ‘LeLeLe’, produced by Flako and featuring Kashmere of Strange U. Straight banger! On the flip we have Souleance’s remix of Quiet Dawn’s ‘Golden Moments’, which is everything we’ve come to expect from the French duo. The EP is completed with another remix, this time Throwing Snow’s fractured rework of Frameworks’ Dawn.