Beat Tape

Cortel – Cortel [Beat Tape] [2016]

Cortel – Cortel [Beat Tape]
(Click Cover To Download)

01. No Way Back
02. Run
03. She
04. You and I
05. Stay
06. Roads
07. One Word
08. Past

Cortel – Cortel

We are glad to present a debut album by Nizhny Novgorod-based band Cortel. The founders of the band, Sergei Kashkovsky and Dmitry Tochilin, started their musical carriers with indie rock but eventually decided to move to more electronic sound. Sergei is band’s vocalist and song-writer while Dmitry is responsible for the whole musical stuff.

Not without irony guys admit that primarily they intended to write trap music. But when writing the first track they understood it’s too boring for them. After several experiments they found out that the most original and suitable way to beautify their music is to use samples and echoes of a long forgotten cultural epoch — jazz of the early and middle 20th century.

Even for the two band members it’s not completely clear what genre of music they play now: “Dmitry thinks we play IDM while I think it’s RnB”, says Sergei the vocalist. “Still there is one big thing that unites us: despite the dominance of electronica in our music, we try to create something ‘alive’. Music you can enter into a dialogue with. Music that provokes new emotions and thoughts inside you”.